caramelized onion dip

DSC07650-1

Parenthood is a perennial reminder of how fast time flies. Blogging and recipe developing are a very close second. While perusing my own archives, I came across this recipe I created for Cuisinart almost a year to the day. It was just in time for the Super Bowl, and well, here we are all over again. The change in scenery here is the Jets are one step closer to the big game. My knowledge of football ends right there (and I’m very okay with that too).

I must confess this recipe came to be as an afterthought. My original intention was to make a spinach and onion dip. When I got home, what I thought were frozen bags of spinach in the freezer turned out to be peas, and lots of them—the kids love their peas. Problem was I had already promised the Mr. some dip, and truth be told, I didn’t want to let myself down too. Salty snack cravings are an Achille’s heel of sorts.

I had already decided to slice and caramelize the onions for the spinach dip, so when it became apparent there was no spinach on hand, I didn’t waver. And while I didn’t get the veggie boost I was hoping for to condone a few extra potato chips, the end result was amazing. The ingredients are simple, with a healthy twist too—I swapped in Greek yogurt for some of the requisite sour cream. The bits of caramelized onion studded throughout this creamy dip sealed the deal, making this the only one you’ll need come game day.

DSC07639-1

Caramelized Onion dip

Makes about 1 cup

printer friendly version

2 teaspoons extra virgin olive oil

1 medium onion, sliced thin

1/3 cup sour cream

1/3 cup 2% Greek yogurt

Salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste

Heat olive oil in a skillet over medium-high heat. Add onions and season with salt and pepper. Saute until they begin to soften and become golden, about 10 minutes. Cover skillet and reduce heat to medium-low. Cook, covered, until onions are very tender, about 10 more minutes. Transfer onions, Stir, scraping up any browned bits at bottom of the pot, to a bowl and let cool for 10 minutes.

Add onions, sour cream and yogurt to the bowl of a food processor and pulse until well mixed and the onions are mostly, but not completely chopped. You can alternately chopped the onions very fine by hand and fold all the ingredients together with a rubber spatula. May be stored in an airtight container for up to two days.

DSC07642-1
6 Responses to “caramelized onion dip”

  1. caramelized onion — those are practically my two favorite words. so you can get really good color in just 20 minutes?

  2. Another perfect recipe to add to my healthy Jan repertoire, almost treat like!….just need to find some healthy chips!

  3. This looks terrific! I made a similar version last weekend. Anything with onions is tops in my book :) And, the chips look awesome…great pairing.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 429 other followers

