vegetable bouillon

Homemade Vegetable Bouillon

makes one quart (4 cups)

adapted from this recipe by Heidi at 101 Cookbooks

Yes, this recipe really does need 7 ounces of salt. Remember, you’re curing the vegetables, and the salt ensures they do not go rancid. I’ve noted to use a measured teaspoon for each cup of prepared bouillon, but if you’re like me and prefer to dip in with one of your normal serving teaspoons, you will definitely need to add more water. Play around until you find the right ratio, since all silverware teaspoons are not created equal. And one last note—I have a monster Cuisinart (really, it’s 11 cups), so you may need to make this in two batches if you own a smaller food processor.

4 carrots, trimmed, scrubbed & cut into large pieces

3 celery ribs, cut into 1/2-inch pieces

1 leek, white part only, sliced

1 small onion, peeled & quartered

10 sun-dried tomato halves

1 1/2 cups cremini mushrooms (caps & stems), cleaned & quartered

2 cloves garlic

generous handful of fresh parsley, including stems

7 ounces salt

1 teaspoon black peppercorns

Add all ingredients to the bowl of a food processor and pulse until it forms a wet paste and is well combined. Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator, or separate into smaller portions to store in the freezer. To use, combine one measured teaspoon with one cup boiling water.

13 Responses to “vegetable bouillon”

  1. This is great! I cannot wait to try it! How long will it last in the fridge?

    • I’m my 3rd or 4th batch, and the previous ones lasted about 3 months, but that’s only because I ran out. The fair amount of salt in this recipe acts as curing agent, so really it can probably go even longer.

      I use mine very often, at least once a day to make soups, enhance a pasta dish or sauce. If you’re inclined to use it less often, you can always store half in a tightly sealed container and tuck it away in the freezer.

  2. Does it matter which salt you use? I only use unrefined sea salt. What substitute would you recommend for the tomatoes? I am not eating nightshades.

    • I use sea salt and fleur de sel mostly in my cooking. You can simply omit the sun-dried tomatoes and increase the amounts of the other ingredients, or even add in an equal amount of another vegetable you like. This is a very tweakable recipe you make to suit your own tastes and need.

  3. Is that the actual bouillon in the picture? or a broth you made with it?

  4. This sounds fab. I will definitely give it a try. I bet it’d be a good flavor base for plain old white rice.

  5. I cant find the link 😦

  6. Ignore my other post, I dont know whats going on here?!

  7. This IS AMAZING! But I did take it one step further and dehydrated it (after dry -ground in coffee mill and stored in mason jar in pantry). Doing so I cut back on the salt to 4 oz which next time I’ll cut back a little more. I add this to everything…well almost everthing. Not too good on toast with jam but wonderful in mashed spuds. :} Thank you so much for this super site and postting this recipe. It will go down as a staple in my pantry.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

