oat ricotta pancakes

There’s an ongoing joke during mealtimes in my house. Once a plate hits the table my daughter asks “is there ricotta in here mom?”. Eight year olds, or at least the one that shares my gene pool, don’t dream of warm, creamy curds by the spoonful.

I’ve never been a sneaky chef, so the goal of these pancakes is not to fool. It serves a dual-purpose, feeding my addiction to homemade ricotta while fulfilling her favorite breakfast request. I first started adding ricotta to pancakes and waffles to use up any extra hanging around the fridge, lest it go to waste. I was pleasantly surprised how it adds a delicate lightness to them. They also make pancakes more exciting in my eyes—I find them a rather dull start to the day compared to say poached eggs on a bed of lemon Parmesan flecked kale salad (I know this may sound crazy. but that runny yolk glides across creating a creamy, comforting sauce of sorts).

For those days when I’ve finished up all the ricotta, then I can still satisfy Isabella’s craving with this equally yum whole wheat pancake recipe. And with luck I’ll have kale on hand to indulge my own urges.

What’s cooking at In Jennie’s Kitchen: cheddar rye muffins + cocoa spice rubbed ribs

Oat Ricotta Pancakes
Makes 12  to 14 pancakes

2/3 cup (82 grams) oat flour (see how to make your own)

1/3 cup (33 grams) whole wheat pastry flour

1 teaspoon (6 grams) baking powder

2 teaspoons (12 grams) sugar

1/4 teaspoon (1 gram) baking soda

1/4 teaspoon (1 gram) sea salt

3/4 cup (200 ml) whole milk

1/3 cup(68 grams) fresh ricotta

1 large egg

2 tablespoons butter, melted

In a medium bowl, whisk the flours, baking powder, sugar, baking soda and salt together.

In a clean separate bowl, add the ricotta, milk, egg and melted butter. Whisk together to combine. Pour over dry ingredients. Using a fork, stir together just until batter has formed and there are no visible streaks of flour—it’s okay if there are lumps.

Heat a griddle or skillet over medium heat. Coat with a pat of butter. Add generous tablespoons of batter to the pan. Cook 2 to 3 minutes, until the edges look set and air bubbles form on top. Flip and cook 1 to 2 more minutes until done.

Serving Suggestion: frankly these pancakes need nothing more than pure maple syrup, but if you want to get a fruit boost or gussy them up for weekend brunch, these maple syrup poached peaches make a yummy topping.

Leftovers: These freeze very well, layered between sheets of wax paper and stored in a ziptop bag. Just pop them straight from the freezer into the toaster for the quickest homemade breakfast imaginable.

3 Comments to “oat ricotta pancakes”

  1. Many years ago, Quaker Oats offered instructions on making oat flour (buzz it a lot in a blender or [new in those days] food processor) in a free recipe booklet. I tried and enjoyed many of the recipes and still have the book — but your Oat Ricotta Pancakes look better than everything I ever saw, made, and tasted. Cook on!

  2. Whoops! I forgot to say buzz OATMEAL in the blender….. Sorry.

  3. These look incredible. I can’t wait to try them.

    Congratulations! I just awarded your blog the Stylish Blogger Award. I mentioned your blog and the award in a post I published today at http://1840farm.wordpress.com.

    Thanks for writing a blog that I love to read.

    Jennifer
    1840 Farm

Leave a Reply

