chocolate buttermilk doughnuts

I have a soft spot for doughnuts. Literally. It’s somewhere in the nether regions where my waist resides. The good news is this recipe is for baked doughnuts.

Don’t get me wrong. I adore traditional yeast-raised doughnuts. I don’t even mind the oil scent that clings to the walls—yes, I’m pretty much alone in this feeling.

When time is of the essence, though, and calories creep into my conscience, these cake-like doughnuts more than satisfy my sweet tooth. They’re also a hit with the kids because they’re ready in less than 20 minutes—patience is not one of their virtues. After one taste, who can blame them?

Chocolate Buttermilk Doughnuts

makes 6

print this recipe

3/4 cup (3 ounces/85 grams) whole wheat pastry flour

1/4 cup (.95 ounces/27 grams) dark cocoa powder (I use Guittard)

1/4 cup (2 ounces/56 grams) natural cane sugar

1 teaspoon (5 grams) baking powder

1/8 teaspoon (1 gram) baking soda

¼ teaspoon (2 grams) sea salt

1/3 cup (75 ml) buttermilk, well-shaken

1 large (50 grams) egg

3 tablespoons brewed coffee, cooled

1 tablespoon (14 grams) butter, melted

Topping Suggestions

Confectioners’ sugar

Caramel sauce

Chocolate ganache, warmed to spreading consistency

Sprinkles

1. Preheat oven to 425ºF. Coat one 6-doughnut nonstick baking pan with cooking spray; set aside.

2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, cocoa, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

3. In a measuring cup, use a fork to beat the buttermilk, egg, coffee and melted butter until well blended. Pour over the flour mixture and use a wooden spoon to stir together until just combined. Evenly spoon into the prepared doughnut pan and bake for 8 to 9 minutes, until doughnuts spring back when touched.

4. Remove from oven and let cool for 2 minutes in the pan, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Use a small strainer to sift Confectioners’ sugar over tops before serving, if desired, or dip the tops into a bowl of chocolate ganache and scatter sprinkles across.

Not in the mood for chocolate? Try these lemon buttermilk doughnuts on my Cuisinart blog.

3 Comments to “chocolate buttermilk doughnuts”

  1. they sound wonderful! 🙂

  2. I know I’m a little late to the party, but can these be made as solid doughnuts on, say, a cookie sheet or maybe in muffin tins? I don’t own a doughnut pan.

  3. Hi, this recipe looks amazing. I get excited when I come across recipes for yummy stuff that’s less guilt laden! I don’t have a donut pan – could the dough be piped into rings or is it firm enough to roll and cut out rings? Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

