all-purpose baking mix

all purpose baking mix 01

People often ask which recipe is my all-time favorite, to which I always answer “that would be like saying which one of my kids I like best”. I simply can’t do it. There is one recipe, though, which I am particularly proud of, and it came about while writing my cookbook Homemade with Love: Simple Scratch Cooking from In Jennie’s Kitchen.

What started as two recipes, one for a pancake & waffle mix, and another for a dry muffin mix, morphed into my All-Purpose Baking Mix. One mix is all you need to make cupcakes, muffins, pancakes and waffles, all at a moment’s notice. Since writing the cookbook, I’ve continued to work on developing new recipes using my All-Purpose Baking Mix as a base ingredient. I thought I’d share the master recipe for those of you who don’t yet have the cookbook. Please be sure to read the recipes through carefully moving forward, as some may call for all-purpose flour, and others my All-Purpose Baking Mix.

all purpose baking mix 02

Jennie’s All-Purpose Baking Mix

makes a little more than 4 cups (619 grams)

3 3/4 cups (525 grams) unbleached all-purpose flour

1/4 cup (50 grams) granulated natural cane sugar

2 tablespoons (32 grams) baking powder

1 teaspoon (6 grams) baking soda

1 teaspoon (6 grams) fine sea salt

Add the ingredients to a large bowl; whisk to combine. Store in a tightly sealed container or plastic zip-top bags for up to 2 months. Ingredients will settle, so be sure to shake well before using.

Recipes using my All-Purpose Baking Mix:

More recipes that are available my cookbook, Homemade with Love: Simple Scratch Cooking from In Jennie’s Kitchen.

  • vanilla blueberry waffles
  • fluffy buttermilk pancakes
  • deep chocolate cupcakes

Subscribe to Simple Scratch Cooking: A Guide to Easy, Everyday Meals by Email

Check out my other blog, In Jennie’s Kitchen, for more easy, homemade recipes.

Follow me on Facebook and Pinterest.

One Trackback to “all-purpose baking mix”

Leave a comment