homemade muesli

I must confess, until two weeks ago, I really never knew the difference between muesli and oatmeal. Crazy, yes, but I’m also new to the oatmeal game. When I was a little girl, I’d beg my nana for oatmeal each morning because my older sister loved it. Then I’d find myself staring at a bowl of mush, and suddenly realized I preferred food that required teeth. Something with texture that I could actually enjoy.

In all fairness to oatmeal, nana used the instant stuff, and I now know that is not really oatmeal. This—now that’s real oatmeal. And this one—oh, yeah, it’s as awesome as it looks too. But we’re talking about muesli here, right?

So what is mueslii anyway? Basically take all the ingredients you’d use to make oatmeal with old fashioned oats, store it in a jar and you’ve got yourself some muesli.

Oh yes, you’re wondering what the heck to do with it because the oats aren’t cooked. Well, that really depends on your preference. Heidi over at 101 Cookbooks likes to let hers sit overnight in the fridge with thinned out yogurt. Not being one for a cold breakfast, I have a different take on mine, and that’s how I’ve written the preparation directions below.

This has been my staple breakfast since 2011 peeked its head into existence, and I’ve yet to tire of it. Keeping it on the counter ensures it’s always on my mind, and boiling the water to make it isn’t a big deal since I make a fresh pot of French press coffee every morning. You can even swap in steamed milk for the boiling water for a creamier muesli. And while the marcona almonds have a lovely, distinct flavor, if you want to make a more budget friendly version, then swap in toasted regular almonds.

Homemade Muesli

Makes 1 3/4 cups, enough for at least 4 to 6 servings

This is a naturally gluten-free breakfast too, provided you buy certified gluten free oats, like the ones from Bob’s Red Mill.

1 cup old fashioned rolled oats

1/4 cup marcona almonds, coarsely chopped

1/4 cup raisins

1/4 cup dates, coarsely chopped

1 teaspoon flaxseed

Pinch of fleur de sel

Boiling water, when ready to serve (see more serving ideas below)

Toss ingredients together in a medium bowl until well combined. Spoon into a glass mason jar to store. (I keep mine on the counter top so it’s handy every morning, and reminds me to get a healthy jump on the day.)

When ready to serve, pour as much as you like into a deep bowl. Pour in just enough boiling water to cover the muesli. Place a dish on top to keep muesli warm while it “steeps” and let sit for 5 minutes. Remove plate, stir in regular or almond milk or yogurt and sweetener of choice, if desired.

Optional add-ins:

Swap in for the marcona almonds, dates, raisins, or add 1/4 cup of one of these dried fruits or nuts and increase the oats to 1 1/2 cups.

dried apricots, chopped

dried cherries

chopped prunes

chopped toasted walnuts

chopped toasted pecans

pumpkin seeds

sunflower seeds

Serving ideas:

yogurt

maple syrup

agave nectar

steamed milk

almond milk

5 Comments to “homemade muesli”

  1. Delicious! I love oatmeal, but never knew the difference between that and muesli, which is an odd word if you think about it..

  2. Love this! I’d definitely have mine warm too… with a sprinkle of brown sugar on top.

  3. My mom used to make homemade muesli and we always ate it cold, with milk poured over it. In fact, that, along with her homemade granola (two varieties) was the only cold cereal I ever ate until I was a teenager! (I grew up in the 70s and 80s, so you know I was a complete freak in the eyes of my friends!) Anyway, the raw oats, with raisins, chopped dates, a little shredded coconut, probably other healthy ingredients that I have since forgotten, topped with milk, made a chewy and flavorful–and very satisfying–breakfast. Or midnight snack.

  4. I’ve been eating muesli since I saw an episode on the Dr. Oz show. I’ve been trying different takes on it, like with dried apples, raspberries, roasted sunflower seeds, and oats. The sunflower seeds give it that extra crunch. But I just use heated water to warm it up, and I use sugar in the raw to sweeten. I’ve never tried agave syrup, Does anyone know how it taste with the agave nectar or maple syrup ?

  5. Made it loved it and now addicted 😉
    Ettie
    Israel

Leave a comment